Eisenbahnmuseum Schwechat (Schwechat railway museum)

is located next to Schwechat railway station (Hintere Bahngasse 2) on the site of the former workshops and rail yard of the Vienna-Bratislava electric local railway. This branch line was opened in 1914 and followed the course of the Danube river. An innovative approach was taken in the planning of the railway, with the inclusion of several special features.

In the centres of both cities it resembled a tramway – with its own track and powered by direct current. The locomotives had to be replaced for the interurban stretch of the line from Schwechat to Kittsee, where it ran on a 15 kV, 16²/³ Hz system, which had only been used once before in Austria. The carriages did not need to be changed.

You would hear people say they were “taking the tram to Bratisava”.

The heritage-protected buildings and railway vehicles bear the hallmarks of architect Otto Wagner.

The history of the railway is virtually unique in the way it reflects the constant process of adaptation to the frequently changing political situation in the region.

The first steps in establishing the museum were taken in 1975. Two collectors belonging to the Vereine zur Förderung von Klein- und Lokalbahnen (association for the promotion of local and light railways) found out about the former locomotive workshop, which was almost empty except for the original crane. After receiving permission from Austrian Federal Railways, they began to use the site as a storage facility for signalling equipment and industrial and Feldbahn narrow-gauge railway vehicles.

About 10 years later several associations and private individuals declared an interest in turning it into a museum. Verband der Eisenbahnfreunde (the friends of the railways association) concluded a tenancy agreement with the owners.

This, and a decade’s worth of collecting activities by Verband der Eisenbahnfreunde and its partners formed the basis for the museum concept. Eisenbahnmuseum Schwechat focuses on suburban transport and local, industrial and Feldbahn narrow-gauge railways.

Its partnership with Vienna Technical Museum is especially significant. Locomotives and carriages from Vienna Technical Museum’s collection make up an essential part of Eisenbahnmuseum Schwechat’s exhibits and are kept in the depot.

The locomotives and carriages from a range of historical eras take visitors on a journey through time.

It is a place of hands-on, experiential discovery for families and railway enthusiasts alike –

a living museum where they can witness vivid demonstrations of historical pieces of engineering in action. The buildings are linked by a narrow-gauge railway and visitors can also visit the workshop and depot. The museum also offers a programme of special activities for children and groups.

Its special exhibitions address a wide range of topics with a focus on exploring social and economic relationships. The

“1001 Bilder”

mehr als ein Traum (1,001 images – more than just a dream)

exhibition series features historical and contemporary railway photography.

Eisenbahnmuseum Schwechat
Sendnergasse 26

2320 Schwechat

Verband der Eisenbahnfreunde
branch office
Fruethstrasse 11, 1030 Vienna, Austria

Registered association number: 193862159 ATU52943702




1001 Bilder (1,001 images exhibition series)

120 Jahre Wiener Stadtbahn (celebrating 120 years of the Wiener Stadtbahn railway)

9 June 2018

Rock am Zug (rock on the train) concert

6 October 2018

Long Night of Museums:

open from 2pm

Exhibition of photographs of assorted railway vehicles

Operation of steam railway until 11.30pm.

Video screening, buffet etc. until 1am


The exhibition on little-known company GEBUS and its founder, engineer Moriz Gelinek, will be updated. Austrian inventor Moriz Gelinek is often referred to as the father of the Hamburg Flyer – the legendary high-speed train that travelled at a top speed of 160kph between Berlin and Hamburg as early as 1932/33.